Make your own free website on

Robert H. Burns American Legion Post 16

2008 Department Convention Awards

Become a Member of American Legion Post 16


Left to right front row:  Department of La. Poppy Chairman Eleanor Travirca from Lockport, Department of La. Little Miss Poppy 2008 – 2009 Treaser McArthur and Squadron 16 member Dylan McArthur. 

Left to right back row:  Post 16 Commander Terry Sharp, Unit 16 Junior Activity Chairman Betty McArthur, Squadron 16 Commander Danny McArthur and Unit 16 1st Vice Millie Fitzmorris.


American Legion Family Post 16 Receives Department Awards - June 2008


The Robert H. Burns, American Legion Family Post 16 recently attended the Department of Louisiana Convention held in Alexandria, Louisiana,

June 6th-8th.


The Auxiliary’s 88th Annual Convention’s opening session began with the processional of past department presidents, a parade of flags and the department officers for 2007 – 2008.  Auxiliary Convention Chairman Essie DeCuir presented Department President Maggie Watts the gavel.


Unit 16 was presented the following Department awards:  “Best Unit Program Emphasis Articles Award,” “Best Unit Junior Public Relations Award” and a “Certificate of Participation-Public Relations” Jane Duracher, Chairman; “Best Unit Web Site Award” Marie Duracher, Webmaster; Best Poppy Poster” Class I-Kaitlyn Allen, Class III-April Randazzo, Class IV- Courtney Senac, all students from Lake Castle Private School, and Class V-Jamie Taylor, student from St. Paul’s School.


Unit 16 Little Miss Poppy Treaser McArthur was awarded the title of Department of Louisiana Little Miss Poppy (6-12) for 2008 – 2009 for her participation and promotion of the Memorial Poppy Program.  Her scrapbook has been forwarded to National competition.


Unit 16 senior and junior groups and also individual members Mary Beth Buras, Eleanora Bourgeois, Marilyn Gorgas and Frances Rosevally received a Certificate of Appreciation from the Louisiana War Veterans Home.  Unit 16 received a Certificate of Participation in the Children & Youth Program, VA&R Volunteer Home & Field Service Program; and Baton Rouge VA Outpatient Clinic.  Jane Duracher, Marie Duracher, Marilyn Gorgas and Carol Johansen also received a certificate from the Baton Rouge VA Outpatient Clinic.


Local senior members attending were Jane Duracher, Marie Duracher, Millie Fitzmorris, Carol Johansen, Betty McArthur, Sherry Mooney and Sandra Sharp.  Local junior members attending were Krystal Ingalls and Treaser McArthur.  Krystal Ingalls was elected Department of La. Honorary Junior Auxiliary Historian for 2008 – 2009.


Post 16 members attended the 89th Annual Convention for the Legion.  Post 16 was presented the following Department awards:  “C. L. Stiffel Award” for operating the top Americanism programs; “Hamley Barrios Memorial Award” for top services to veterans and associated programs; “ Harry Robertson Memorial Children and Youth Award;” “Post Publication (Newsletter) Award;” Publicity Chairman Award” Roy Kellum Chairman; and “Greatest Percentage of Membership by the Big 12 Goal Date Award.”  Post 16 also received a Certificate of Appreciation from the Louisiana War Veterans Home.


Local post members attending were Commander and Delegation Chairman Terry Sharp, Past Post Commanders James Fitzmorris, Emil Johansen, Avery Mooney, and members Charles Hebert, Stacy Miller and Mike Peats.