Make your own free website on

VFW Americanism Contest Winners

Passing of Joyce Mitchell
Mike and Kay Peats presented Americanism awards to the winners from Lee Road Jr. High School.
Boy Scout Troop 610 Summer Camp
Alexis King and Vice Pesident Pence
VFW Auxiliary Raffle - Independence Celebration Basket
Belk Charity Days - Fundraiser for VFW Aux 8720
Awards Presented at Northlake Christian School
Americanism Essay Awards - Lee Road Jr. High School
VFW Awards Ceremony - Dec. 17, 2016
VFW Christmas Party 2016
Rain Gutter Regatta - December 2016
Christmas Party 2016
November 2016 Meeting and Information
VFW Post 8720 - 70th Anniversary Celebration
Mayor Addresses Boy Scout Troop 610
Obituary for Ben White
Obituary for Joseph Dash
Farewell Clint Lounsbury
VFW Citizenship Education Teacher Award at the State level
Honoring Two of Our Members, Mike Peats and Jim Livermore
Forest Manor Nursing Home Bingo July 2016
Abita Springs 4th of July Celebration 2016
VFW Convention 2016
VFW Post 8720 Officers 2016
VFW Auxiliary Officers 2016
VFW Installation & Awards Ceremony 2016
Memorial Day 2016 (Abita Cemetery)
Americanism Contests
Commander/President Informational Letter 3/29/16
Obituary for Helen Inez Naquin
VFW Christmas Families 2015
Americanism and Patriot Pen Awards 2015
Lee Road Jr. High School Americanism and Patriot Pen Essay Winners 2015
Lee Road Jr. High School and Patriot Pen Essay Winners 2015
VFW Award Presentation at Northlake Christian Lower School 2015
Award Winners Recognized at VFW 2015 Christmas Party
Homer Williams VFW Post 8720 Officers 2015-2016 and Award Presentations
2015 VFW Memorial Day Service at Abita Springs Cemetery
Veterans of Foreign War - National Contests - Homer Williams Post 8720 winners
Breast Cancer Screening
Memorial Mass - Agnes Welch
American Legion National Commander's Visit, 2014
VFW Installation Awards - 2014
VFW Awards - 2014
Randon Dick Family Benefit - April 19, 2014
Marine Family Benefit
Homer Williams VFW Presents Awards
VFW Americanism Contest Winners
Northlake Christian School Awards
VFW Christmas Party, Sat., Dec. 14th @ 6:00PM
Lunch and Bingo - Reserve & Jackson Veteran Homes - 10/22/13
Passing of Julian Taylor
Flag Retirement Ceremony
State of Louisiana - Scout of the Year 2013
Flag Disposal Program Flyer VFW 8720
VFW Post 8720 Installation of Officers 2013
VFW 8720 Installation Invitation and Schlorship Application 2014
Justin Magrath, Scout from Post 8720
Gifts and Award Presentation June 2013
2013 Installation Party and Scholarship Application Form
January Meeting 2013 - Citizenship Education Teacher Award
Post 8720 Christmas Party 2012
VFW Mid-Winter Conference
Americanism Contest Awards Presented
VFW Needy Christmas Family Visit December 2012
Lee Road School Americanism Awards
VFW Americanism Contest Winners
Southeast Louisiana Veterans Cemetery Groundbreaking
Patriot's Pen Judging
Patriot's Pen Winners
Turkey and all the Trimmings
9th District Meeting
June Meeting Awards Presentations
Memorial Day Service at the Abita Spring Cemetery 2012
Installation & Awards Ceremony 2012
Donation to The Little Red School House
Fontainebleau High School Awards 2012
Woodlake Teacher Award and Flag Etiquette Class 2012
Northlake Christian School - Creative Patriotic Awards
VFW Mandeville High School Awards 2012
Election of Officers 2012 - 2013
2012 Installation of Officers and Scholarship Application
VFW Nat'l Citizenship Education Teacher Award State Winner
VFW Ladies Auxiliary Garage Sale 2012
Northlake Christian - Patriot's Pen and Voice of Democracy
A Chosen Christmas Family 2011
Americanism Awards
Objective of the VFW
Korean Veterans 299 Host Convention
Mike Peats VFW Commander
VFW National Citizenship Education Teacher Award
War Vets Visit
Ladies Auxiliary
Farewell Phyllis



Annually, the Louisiana Veterans of Wars (VFW) have 4 Americanism contests for Elementary grade levels (K-6) to help instill Patriotism in our youth.  Our Homer Williams VFW Post 8720 received a total of 845 entries in these contests from 7 local schools.

Category 1  - Coloring of a Pre-Printed American Flag is an art contest for kindergarten students.  We received 227 entries from 6 schools.  Top 3 winners are:

1st Place Winner Christopher Nava, Woodlake Elementary School

2nd Place Winner Bella Sharp, Lee Road Jr. High School

3rd Place Winner    Ava Frerman, Woodlake Elementary School


Category 2  - Drawing of the American Flag is an art contest for 1st & 2nd grade students.  We received 343 entries from 4 schools.  Winners are:

1st Place Winner     Ibrahim Algasabi, Cedarwood School – 2nd Grade
2nd Place Winner     Callie Marie Adams, Lee Road Jr. High School – 2nd Grade
3rd Place Winner     Emily Ovella, Cedarwood School – 2nd Grade


Category 3  - Drawing a Historical Event is the art contest for 3rd & 4th graders.  We received 189 entries from 4 schools.  Winners are:

1st Place Winner     Olivia Quiroz, Our Lady of the Lake School – 4th Grade 

2nd Place Winner    Idelle Elizabeth Burgess, Lee Road Jr. High School – 4th Grade

3rd Place Winner     Mackenzie Connaughton, Our Lady of the Lake School – 3rd Grade


Olivia has also won at the District level.  The state winners are being announced January 25th at our Mid-Winter conference.

Category 4  - The fourth contest is an Essay contest for 5th & 6th graders.  This year’s theme was “How I Honor Veterans.”  We received 86 entries from 3 schools.  And the winners are:

1st Place Winner Trevor Fortier, Our Lady of the Lake School – 5th Grade

2nd Place Winner    Emma Mikell, Northlake Christian School - 5th Grade

3rd Place Winner    Johnny Bergeron, Our Lady of the Lake School – 6th Grade


Trevor also won at the District level and we are awaiting the announcement of the State winners.


Lee Road School Winners – front row, left to right – Bella Sharp 2nd place in Flag Coloring contest, Idelle Elizabeth Burgess 2nd place in Historical Event Drawing contest, not present was Callie Marie Adams who won 2nd place in Flag Drawing contest.

Back row left to right Commander Mike Peats, Rachel Champagne Steinhauer & Tressa Laird - teachers that coordinated contests at school, Principal Anna Bowie, Americanism Chairman Kay Peats


Northlake Christian School – Emma Mikell won 2nd place in Essay contest.  Award presented (left to right) by Post 8720 members Emil and Carol Johansen (Ladies Auxiliary Chaplain) and Kay Peats


Woodlake Elementary winners – Christopher Nava won 1st place and Ava Frerman won 3rd place in Flag Coloring contest.  Award presented by Chaplain Franklin Lanzetta.


Our Lady of the Lake School winners – front row, left to right:  Trevor Fortier won 1st place (Post & District level) in the Essay contest, Mackenzie Connaughton won 3rd place and Olivia Quiroz won 1st place (Post & District levels) in the Historical Event Drawing contest, Johnny Bergeron placed 3rd in the Essay contest.  Awards presented by Post 8720 members David Rice (Quartermaster) and Elizabeth Rice (Historian)


Cedarwood School winner – left to right:  Ibrahim Algasabi, 1st place winner, and Emily Ovella, 2nd place winner, in the Flag Drawing contest.