Make your own free website on

VFW Installation & Awards Ceremony 2016

Passing of Joyce Mitchell
Mike and Kay Peats presented Americanism awards to the winners from Lee Road Jr. High School.
Boy Scout Troop 610 Summer Camp
Alexis King and Vice Pesident Pence
VFW Auxiliary Raffle - Independence Celebration Basket
Belk Charity Days - Fundraiser for VFW Aux 8720
Awards Presented at Northlake Christian School
Americanism Essay Awards - Lee Road Jr. High School
VFW Awards Ceremony - Dec. 17, 2016
VFW Christmas Party 2016
Rain Gutter Regatta - December 2016
Christmas Party 2016
November 2016 Meeting and Information
VFW Post 8720 - 70th Anniversary Celebration
Mayor Addresses Boy Scout Troop 610
Obituary for Ben White
Obituary for Joseph Dash
Farewell Clint Lounsbury
VFW Citizenship Education Teacher Award at the State level
Honoring Two of Our Members, Mike Peats and Jim Livermore
Forest Manor Nursing Home Bingo July 2016
Abita Springs 4th of July Celebration 2016
VFW Convention 2016
VFW Post 8720 Officers 2016
VFW Auxiliary Officers 2016
VFW Installation & Awards Ceremony 2016
Memorial Day 2016 (Abita Cemetery)
Americanism Contests
Commander/President Informational Letter 3/29/16
Obituary for Helen Inez Naquin
VFW Christmas Families 2015
Americanism and Patriot Pen Awards 2015
Lee Road Jr. High School Americanism and Patriot Pen Essay Winners 2015
Lee Road Jr. High School and Patriot Pen Essay Winners 2015
VFW Award Presentation at Northlake Christian Lower School 2015
Award Winners Recognized at VFW 2015 Christmas Party
Homer Williams VFW Post 8720 Officers 2015-2016 and Award Presentations
2015 VFW Memorial Day Service at Abita Springs Cemetery
Veterans of Foreign War - National Contests - Homer Williams Post 8720 winners
Breast Cancer Screening
Memorial Mass - Agnes Welch
American Legion National Commander's Visit, 2014
VFW Installation Awards - 2014
VFW Awards - 2014
Randon Dick Family Benefit - April 19, 2014
Marine Family Benefit
Homer Williams VFW Presents Awards
VFW Americanism Contest Winners
Northlake Christian School Awards
VFW Christmas Party, Sat., Dec. 14th @ 6:00PM
Lunch and Bingo - Reserve & Jackson Veteran Homes - 10/22/13
Passing of Julian Taylor
Flag Retirement Ceremony
State of Louisiana - Scout of the Year 2013
Flag Disposal Program Flyer VFW 8720
VFW Post 8720 Installation of Officers 2013
VFW 8720 Installation Invitation and Schlorship Application 2014
Justin Magrath, Scout from Post 8720
Gifts and Award Presentation June 2013
2013 Installation Party and Scholarship Application Form
January Meeting 2013 - Citizenship Education Teacher Award
Post 8720 Christmas Party 2012
VFW Mid-Winter Conference
Americanism Contest Awards Presented
VFW Needy Christmas Family Visit December 2012
Lee Road School Americanism Awards
VFW Americanism Contest Winners
Southeast Louisiana Veterans Cemetery Groundbreaking
Patriot's Pen Judging
Patriot's Pen Winners
Turkey and all the Trimmings
9th District Meeting
June Meeting Awards Presentations
Memorial Day Service at the Abita Spring Cemetery 2012
Installation & Awards Ceremony 2012
Donation to The Little Red School House
Fontainebleau High School Awards 2012
Woodlake Teacher Award and Flag Etiquette Class 2012
Northlake Christian School - Creative Patriotic Awards
VFW Mandeville High School Awards 2012
Election of Officers 2012 - 2013
2012 Installation of Officers and Scholarship Application
VFW Nat'l Citizenship Education Teacher Award State Winner
VFW Ladies Auxiliary Garage Sale 2012
Northlake Christian - Patriot's Pen and Voice of Democracy
A Chosen Christmas Family 2011
Americanism Awards
Objective of the VFW
Korean Veterans 299 Host Convention
Mike Peats VFW Commander
VFW National Citizenship Education Teacher Award
War Vets Visit
Ladies Auxiliary
Farewell Phyllis


The 2016-2017 VFW and VFW Auxiliary Officers were installed on Saturday, May 21st.


Paul Hamburger was installed as the new Post Commander and Beth Laderer was installed as the new Auxiliary President.


Prior to the installation ceremonies, several awards were presented by the outgoing Commander, Mike Peats, and President, Claudette Arcement.


The winner of our $1,000 Scholarship Award was presented to Vincent Soldano, grandson of Ann and James Murphy.  Vincent just graduated from Brother Martin High School and will be attending LSU pursuing a degree in Architecture.


Joint Appreciation Awards were given to:


Paul Hamburger – recognizing his many hours spent improving and maintaining the appearance of our Post and cleaning, tiling, painting the Auxiliary Room


Betty Cognevich and Carolyn Palermo were given dining gift cards for their dedication in providing great meals at our meetings.


Commander Awards were given to:

               James Livermore – ROTC Program

               Dave Arceneaux – ROTC Program

               Franklin Lanzetta – Chaplain, Poppy Chairman, ROTC Program

               Percy Naquin – Quartermaster, ROTC Program

               Eric Durel – Helping with the building maintenance


Auxiliary Membership Pins were presented by Claudette Arcement – to 20 Auxiliary Members that reached 5, 10, 15, 20, 25 and 35 years of membership with the Auxiliary.  Only two members were present to accept them.


Mike also thanked everyone who worked on our School Programs, Kay Peats, Beth Laderer, Frank & Rene Lanzetta, Carol & Emil Johansen, Chuck Christensen, Ann Murphy, Betty Cognevich, Carol Palermo, Claudette Arcement, Jo Kieffer, Linda Heldenbrand, Dave Arceneaux.


He also recognized and thanked all our Bingo helpers: Beth & Bobbi, Betty, Bob, Carolyn, Cindy, Claudette, Flanagan family, Dave, Donnie, Don, Frank & Rene, Iris & Louie, Livermore, Jo, Kay, Linda, Paul Hamburger, Percy, Sandra, Wes and Rhonda


Our St Tammany Veterans Honor Guard members  – Rudy Sutis, Paul Resor, Frank Lanzetta, Ignatius De Sandro, James Livermore, Mark Herman and Percy Naquin – were recognized for their countless hours aiding our veterans and instilling Patriotism in our youth


Claudette Arcement, District 9 President, installed the Auxiliary Officers and

Mickey Carroll, District 9 Commander, installed the Post Officers.


20 Year Membership Pins to Iris Salzer and Betty Cognevich


Betty Cognevich and Carolyn Palermo Appreciation Award


Paul Hamburger Appreciation Award


Eric Durel Commander Award


Franklin Lanzetta Commander Award


James Livermore Commander Award


Auxiliary Officers


Auxiliary Officers


VFW Post 8720 Auxiliary Officers 2016


VFW Post 8720 Officers 2016




Post Officers with Mickey Carroll


Scholarship Winner Vincent Soldano